Always in the Present Tense

2023 has been a year where I lost two good friends, my brother-in-law and recently my cousin’s husband Ted, who is a brother to me.

Ted’s family asked me to speak at his memorial service and it was the first time I had ever done that. It was hard emotionally and to be honest, hard to write because the subject is so dear to me. I was told that people liked my speech, and I was honored to be able to give some love and comfort to Ted’s family. No speech could adequately say what could be said about Ted and the life he led.

I decided to post my speech here so that from time-to-time I can remember to never think of him but only in the Present Tense!


Many of you know me as Janie’s cousin Herschel from Georgia. Over the past 38 years I’ve been coming to Seattle to visit family and friends, mostly at Christmas time. Over the years of visiting many of you have seen me with my cameras taking photos and videos and an occasional wedding video for the kids. I’ve done short films, commercials and even shoot music videos from time-to-time.

So, I guess I see the world through the lens of a camera – I see stories and I’ve been thinking a lot lately about Ted’s Story.

I was talking to my daughter about what I was going to say and after giving her some of my ideas she said “Dad, don’t over complicate it. Just tell everyone how you feel about Ted. That’s your story with Ted – an uncomplicated friendship!”

For me, when I think of Ted I see a vibrant, laughing, caring, fun, Man’s Man.

Ted is a loving Husband… he is the perfect husband for Janie and that story could match any block buster love story ever told by Hollywood!

Ted is a thoughtful, attentive, caring father. I can attest that he loved and bragged about Teddy, Jeremy and Stacy all the time. The way he jokes & laughs with them, the way he talks to them in his loving way, the way he shows them all the time how much they are loved and how proud he is of the people that they have become.

Throughout my many visits when I would hang out with Ted and see during his mother’s declining years how he never stopped loving her and caring for her.

And over the years I felt like we became brothers and enjoyed so many great times together.

But I think, one of Ted’s greatest stories is the love and pride he has for his grand-children -he so loves the role of being PP! Man, that nickname PP. I hope when I have grandchildren I’ll have a cool nickname like that!

You know, I thought it would be easier to do this. I’m a talker and rarely at loss for words. But when I started writing my testimonial, I struggled.

But I came to this conclusion: I don’t think of Ted as in the past.

Ted is here -in the hearts and memories of everyone here! Ted is with me and inspiring to me!

When I think of Ted I imagine him creating new stories, basking in the Glory of God, telling his dad his children’s stories and his grand-children’s stories.

And I guarantee you his mansion in glory has the best manicured yard! The perfect yard!

When I think of Ted, I don’t think that his story here has ended.

His story continues with Janie, with Teddy, Stacy, and Jeremy, with his grand children and in the generations of Cornelius Bakke’s yet to come.

And his story continues with each of you and with me.

When I think of Ted, I see Ted as a man that other men look up to and want to be more like. Ted inspires me to be a better husband, a more understanding and loving father, a caring son and a brother that loves his siblings and who is a friend to all.

I’m telling you with certainty, I will never think of Ted in the past tense. I know that when my time here is done and my eyes open in Heaven I will see my brother Ted -he will give me a great big Teddy-Bear hug and whisper in my ear “Brother, I’m glad you made it home, now tell me the rest of your story!”

They say that a picture is worth a thousand words… With the help of Valicia and the family I put together the next one hundred and ninety thousand words in the form of a photo slide-show. I hope you enjoy Ted’s stories as much as I do.

Ted’s Stories

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment