What Is Your Message?

A couple of weeks ago a question came to me – Herschel, what is your message? I said “Brain, what do you mean what is my message?” Since then I’ve been pondering the question, trying to understand it better. What is the message about –  my life? what I want to proclaim to the world? Is it about the world and humanity at large? What message?

Sitting at church listening to Dr. Cooper talk about faith the other day, the question came to my mind and an answer came to me from the perspective of Jesus Christ. What was his message? What is his message? Sitting in that pew He answered “John 3:16 – For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.”

All the great artist throughout time have struggled with this question. Socrates’ message may be one of his famous quotes “True wisdom comes to each of us when we realize how little we understand about life, ourselves, and the world around us.” In our lifetime John Lennon’s message may have been from his hit song Imagine where he said “Imagine no possessions, I wonder if you can, No need for greed or hunger, A brotherhood of man, Imagine all the people sharing the world.” And then Thomas Jefferson’s message comes to life as the Declaration of Independence where he writes “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed…”

Answering one of life’s, or as I think it may be one of God’s larger questions can be tough. Being a Christian I know that I walk daily with my savior. We have these conversations and he challenges me – to grow, to learn, to ponder, to question what life is about.

My mother sent me a newspaper article from the Dallas Morning News titled Life’s Larger Questions where author William McKenzie talks about life’s larger questions. Mom wanted me to read it and then comment on it through my blog. I found the timing of her request inspirational as I feel that God asked me the original question a couple of weeks ago and through my mom is asking again.

As I ponder the question What is your message? my best answer right now, at this time in my life is that life is precious and rare and unique. We all have been endowed with an unique spirit and unique gifts to add to the chorus of life, to change the world, to make the world a better place That we have been given everlasting life through the Grace of Jesus Christ and that when life here on Earth is complete, we shall be with each other to live in the glorious presence of the Father.

What is your message? Do you have one?

2 Comments

Filed under All Posts, Humanity, Personal, Religion

2 responses to “What Is Your Message?

  1. Cindie Horton

    Hersch, thanks for sharing your message and for reminding me that I need to remind myself of the message that I believe God has given me. When I went through the MBA program several years ago, one of our assignments was to write our mission statement…in essence, what our life purpose is. Jesus’ purpose was to was to die on the cross and to deliver the message that by fulfilling this purpose He was making away for us to have ever lasting life. I think my message is contained in my mission/purpose. I hope the message that “it’s all about Him and not about me” is the message that I deliver everyday: “This is my true joy in life, being used for God’s purposes and bringing glory to Him. Being a force for Him instead of a feverish, selfish little clod of ailments and grievances, complaining that the world will not devote itself to making me happy.
    I know that my life belongs to God and that His purpose for my life includes being an active member and positive contributor to my community, and, as I live, it is my privilege to do for my community—whether at work, at church, for family and friends—whatever I can to bring value and to make my community better.
    I want to be thoroughly used up when I die, for the harder I work the more I live. I rejoice in life because God chose to give it to me. Although my life is brief and fleeting, it is not like the light of a small candle in the distance; rather, it is a sort of splendid torch which I’ve got a hold of for the moment and I want to make it burn as brightly as possible before handing it on to future generations.”

  2. I like the line “I want to be thoroughly used up when I die”!

    Love your message and I love you very much sis!

Leave a Reply

