Ignorance in the Information Age…

For me, accepting the realization that at every moment in time I am not as smart as I think I am has helped me become a better person. You see, rather we believe it or not, we are all ignorant. We all lack knowledge in many areas of life and even when we are “experts” in a field of study, we still don’t know it all in that area of expertise.

Yea, I would like to be Mr. Know-It-All, but that’s not ever going to be a reality I live in. But, the good thing about ignorance is that you can work on becoming less ignorant. It may take a little time and effort, but you can learn and become a better person through the acquisition and application of knowledge.

However, you can’t overcome being stupid. For me, stupidity is the inability to learn or the flat out refusal to learn.

In the information age, as a society, are we becoming less ignorant, and more informed? Yea, I think in certain areas of our society we might be. But I also have a feeling that in very important areas of society we actually might be stupid.

Here’s an interesting video on the subject…

http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/alisa_miller_shares_the_news_about_the_news.html

3 Comments

Filed under All Posts, Education, Internet, Journalism, Personal

3 responses to “Ignorance in the Information Age…

  1. I work with the public, and daily come into contact with people I would swear are not stupid but insist on acting that way.

    You have an interesting blog, and I’ve enjoyed spending some time here.

  2. Thanks for browsing around and leaving comments. I really appreciate when people read and comment.

  3. Pingback: Removing the "Ignorant Factor" from self « The Brain Machine

Leave a Reply

