Getting Better at Video Editing

I’ve been working on my Video editing skills for several years now. I’ve always loved video and photography, but I’ve never had the money to buy equipment to really do pro-sumer level editing. However, over the past five years as personal computing hardware power has increased the video editing software has gotten very usable, and now it is now to a point where with a few hundred dollars and a computer, anyone can do decent video.

I’ve been working on doing concert videography and editing lately. When you are working on a shoe string budget (no budget) you have to think outside of the box. Let me quantify my budget. I went out early this year and purchased a Sony HDR-FX1 HD, 3CCD camera for about thirty two hundred bucks. I decided on the Sony because it had a lot of great features and was HD and had the best price/performance going in the market at that time. I figured as HD became used more and more I’d be able to learn and have room to grow with this camera.

So practically, I did have an initial budget. But for the average consumer who wants to make better video, you don’t need to spend this kind of money on this type of camera. There are plenty of under a thousand dollar 3CCD cameras that can do a great job.

Oh yea, if you want to make better than home movies, you have to have a good video editing solution. I’ve been a Premiere fan for a few years and now have Premiere Pro 2.0. There are other good solutions out there like Vegas Video 7 and such for the money. Professionals use these programs and they have all that a pro-sumer needs to get a quality project completed.

Ok, so, with my concert project a friend has a Panasonic 3CCD camera. So in order to get that multi-cam look and feel I setup his camera on the sound booth and I use my FX1 for roaming shots. I think to really do a professional look and feel video, you really need at least three cameras, each one needs to be 3CCDs.

The other element in a concert video is the music – duh. I don’t have a hundred grand to go out and get a great live recording setup. So, to learn how to combine multiple video sources and sound I went and got a four hundred dollar eight track simultaneous digital recorder on eBay, the Roland 1680. This is portable and has pretty good sound recording quality. With this device I managed to get the house sound guy to give me four mono outs: vocals, drums, base & keyboard and guitars.

Now I have all the components and are able to edit the sound mix, combine it with the multiple video sources and use Premiere 2.0 to bring it all together. I still need to work on the camera angles for the hand held and I think I need a better steadying mechanism for the hand held shots.

The next step in getting a more professional look and feel is to have three cameras, three camera operators, and a communications system so that a director (me) can instruct each operator what to be focusing on during the concert. I just need to figure out how to do that without spending a lot of money.

Anyway, here’s the first edit of the first song from the other night. Let me now what you think.

Leave a comment

Filed under All Posts, Music, Videography

Leave a Reply

