What is the cost of kindness and Shutting Down Our "Auto Pilot" Mode?

There are many great writers and philosophers who, over the history of the human race, have communicated the virtuousness that some members of the human race have in them. Conversely, there are libraries full of books about the evils of humanity.

Now, in our day to day lives or at least in mine, I’ve observed that most people don’t really think about the good and evil of man. We generally are on “auto pilot” as we go through our daily lives. Yes, on Sunday many of us listen to the words that enlighten us to be better humans. But, get us into our daily rituals and we are on auto pilot.

Over my thirty eight years I often find myself questioning myself and my motives. Why do I work? What do I want my life to mean? How can I make a difference in the world?

As with all questions, you can come up with answers, but as you converse with yourself about these questions and your answers at some point in time you have to act.

Sometimes your actions are “auto pilot mode” where you do things because you’ve grown to doing them that way over time. However there are situations where you have to choose to not act via “auto pilot” and actually make an active choice to ACT.

AtlantaTraffic This preamble leads me to Sunday when I traveled back from Golf on a busy Atlanta Interstate. On “Auto Pilot”, listening to the radio and thinking about the four missed birdie puts in my round, the traffic in front of me began to stop quickly. Driving in the “fast” lane I notice cars moving right into the next lane. As I approached the congested area I noticed a man out of his car on his cell phone. Now his car’s hazard lights are blinking and he looks lost and panic, all the while cars are scurrying to get around him.

Instead of doing my normal “get through this mess” tactic, I pull around him and stopped my truck. Jumping out of my truck I acted to help get his car across six lanes of busy Interstate traffic. As we started to push the car I found it difficult to get cars to stop so we could move the car across the lanes. It just seemed that most people were in a hurry to get around the stall.

Once on the other shoulder and out of harms way I had to once again wait on cars that were in a hurry and didn’t want me to cross back to get in my truck and out of the way.

I know that people are in a hurry to get somewhere. But really, how much time does it take to help someone in need? Or at the very least, why can’t people be understanding and wait for the people who are acting to get finished? What is the cost? You know, there are thousands of people that put their lives on the line to protect us each and every day. Thank God that these people aren’t in a hurry to get through their duties. Thankfully they are desirous to not only get the job done, but actually doing it well.

Although helping a stalled motorist off the Interstate is small in the big scheme of life, isn’t it the small things in life that add up to really big things? If we all would get off the “auto pilot” more often how good of a life could we all have?

Leave a comment

Filed under All Posts, Humanity, Personal

Leave a Reply

