Working From Home Is Nothing Special

workingfromhoughton-web So my company allows workers to work from home and so to spend a little more time with my new bride of four months, I’m working from Houghton, Michigan, where she is working on her Ph.D.

Yea, I’ve worked from home a few times previously, but never really took any time out to write about the experience. But now, that I’ve had more time and experience to think about the whole subject, I’ve come to realize that for me, working from home isn’t so special.

In a lot of ways it is great. The privacy and silence is great. I can concentrate since I have zero interruptions. BUT, being, as I like to think of myself, a social person I miss the interpersonal interactions with my co-workers. I think in many ways when you work isolated from people many ideas you might want to discuss tend to get watered down when communicate through instant messenger or e-mail instead of when you are face to face.

You see, I think most humans are like a pack of wolves — sure, a human can function and survive alone, but to really thrive humans must be part of the pack.

Leave a comment

Filed under All Posts, Business, Personal, Technology

Leave a comment