Americans Take It For Granted

So, my new wife of four months is working on her Ph.D. at Michigan Tech University, which is located in Houghton, Michigan. Don’t know where MTU is located? Here is the link to Google Maps (use the zoom out to really see where it is!).

So, we decided we needed a car there for when I visit until she has completed her program. With that decision I decided to take the day off before Thanksgiving and drive up my second car from Atlanta. Actually, at 38, I’ve realized I’m not the youngster of past and planned on a stop somewhere near Greenbay. But, the dummy in me didn’t realize that with Thanksgiving travelers, I should have scheduled a hotel room instead of hoping to just find one on the way.

cities

So, I ended up driving the entire route, some 1133 miles, in one shot. Mapquest said it should have taken about 19 hours. Yet with the snow really starting in Iron Mountain, Michigan, some 112 miles out, my progress slowed to about 40 miles per hour for the longest time until daylight broke due to the variable white-out driving conditions.

Anyway, the point of this long story and long drive is that I had a lot of time to think and listen to the various radio stations along the way. I realized that we have a lot to be thankful for here in the good ole US of A. How many countries can you just up and drive 21 hours without government interference or fear of some gang or rogue insurgent group that may try to kill you on you way?

The only thing I had to worry about is fatigue, snow and the cold weather once I past Green Bay – and let me tell you, for a city boy from Georgia, the end of the real road is really Green Bay! šŸ˜‰

We, Americans, have such a huge country with great diversity. We have so many freedoms that most Earthlings don’t have. We can do great things if we desire and crazy things like drive in the middle of the night through a semi-blizzard so we can be with our loved one for Thanksgiving. Yes, INDEED we have much to be thankful for!

Leave a comment

Filed under All Posts, Liberty, Travel

Leave a Reply

