I’ve Accepted Stress as a Part of Life!

I’ve been around on this Earth for thirty eight years plus a few months and have really come to accept that my life is going to be filled with stress. Whew, big Revelation huh? But really, the human race has socially “evolved” to a point where a vast amount of people don’t want stress at home or work and believe it is their right not to have to deal with stress. But the reality is that stress will always be there.

It is like a Newtonian law – the universe is always in a state of change and the constant change creates stress.

The Webster Dictionary defines stress as “…constraining force or influence: as a : a force exerted when one body or body part presses on, pulls on, pushes against, or tends to compress or twist another body or body part; a state resulting from a stress; especially : one of bodily or mental tension resulting from factors that tend to alter an existent equilibrium.

I just really think that mental stress for humans is a natural state of being. The key to living with stress is managing it. Many people fail in this task, hence the high rates of depression, alcoholism and drug dependency. By no means am I sitting here on a high mountain saying “I have stress under control” because I don’t. And I really have realized that when I do get “it” under control, another set of stresses will exert their force on me to cause me mental tension!

I think you have to work on what causes you stress a little at a time. Don’t let the small issues become big and uncontrollable. A co-worker sent this cute picture of a cartoon character typing and having a stressful day. I don’t know who made the picture, but sometimes I can just see myself on that keyboard.

Leave a comment

Filed under All Posts, Humanity, Personal

Leave a Reply

