Oh, what a pain it is to subject thyself to pain…

I really don’t enjoy having a hurt back! But what I really hate is having a hurt back and the desire to loose weight. It is all that I have in me to struggle to the gym and make myself exercise. But I do realize that if I just sit around letting the pain of my back interfere with the size of my belly, then sometime in the future I’ll be worse off than just having some back pain.

While enjoying my run on the treadmill 😉 tonight I realized that most people, when they exercise, avoid pain during exercise. I guess you can take the slow method and slowly push yourself without any pain, but unfortunately for me I have those many years of “no pain, no gain” drilled into my head and I can’t work out any other way.

But I can tell you this. If you are one of those people that show up to the gym and never sweat or never get your heart rate above forty percent of normal, then I can almost guarantee you’re not making a positive impact on your health. If you think just showing up is all it takes, then you are wasting your time.

Yes, showing up is the first step, but the next step is doing something. And let me tell you, doing something consistently is a REAL PAIN.

Oh, yea, I’ve also come to this simple realization — the biggest factor in loosing weight is eating right. Keep your calories down below your daily needs and you’ll loose weight. Eat more than your daily needs and you’ll gain weight. Simple, but effective and oh so hard to do.

Leave a comment

Filed under All Posts, Health & Wellness, Personal

Leave a Reply

