Intentions are like A-holes and you know the rest of the saying…

flagSo I intended to do a web log entry on the 4th of July. I intended to sit down, think about how much I appreciated living and being a citizen of the United States of America. I intended to recite the pledge of allegiance. I had intended on writing about the lack of appreciation by my fellow citizens and guests of the citizens of the United States of America.

Well… I did none of that because I got busy doing things that I enjoy. Instead of writing a reminder to my fellow citizens, I went about my life and activities with very little remembrance to our forefathers and the sacrifices made for me so long ago.

And I guess that’s what is nice about America today. If we choose we can simply live our lives without much worry. In general we are comfortable with our security and life is not that stressful from day to day. When was the last time you worried about a car bomb going off by a wacky militant group? We have a lot to be thankful for, but the beauty of our society is that we don’t have to thank anyone if we choose not to.

Although at times I get very pissed off with portions of American culture, I am grateful for where I live and what I have. Grateful to so many people that I will never be able to thank and grateful to people who are yet to live.

Leave a comment

Filed under All Posts, Liberty

Leave a Reply

